I have this friend.  Well actually it depends on your definition of ‘friend’.  If you go by the usual (Miriam Websters’) definition of “one attached to another by affection or esteem.” then no, ‘Friend’ is certainly not the right label.

But then if the title or label of ‘friend’ is assigned (as it so often is) as a result of an attachment placed on you – or assumed that you have – by others well then yes, I guess ‘friend’ is applicable.

lectured

Remember when you were younger and there was that ‘friend’ who your parents and family never liked you being associated with?   Well this ‘so called friend’ was certainly…

The ‘So-Called Friend’ Who…  my friends and family never liked or accepted for me. 

Remember when you were younger and an association was formed which you never really wanted but somehow you just couldn’t seem to shake or get rid of?

Well this ‘so called friend’ was certainly…

The ‘So Called Friend’ Who… was never wanted by me.

teenhand1 

Remember how you were often blamed for stuff you never did (and even stuff you would never even think of doing) simply because of that association?

Well this ‘so called friend’ was certainly…

The ‘So Called Friend’ Who… was guilty of causing me to be blamed for things I never did and attitudes I never had.

Remember how they would make others react to you or treat you regardless of who you really were ?

Well this ‘so called friend’ was certainly…

The ‘So Called Friend’ Who… unjustly and unfairly shaped the way others saw me.

who-profits-from-stigma

Remember how because of all that they would often make your life a living misery?

Well this ‘so called friend’ was certainly…

The ‘So Called Friend’ Who… robbed me of any desire to go on.

school-2

In truth I could go on.  But let me cut to the chase here.

Actually it isn’t someone I alone know.  It is someone known by all too many.  All too many, who are guilty of pushing this ‘so called friend’ on me and falling for their tricks and deceptions.

In fact (and so tragically) it is someone all too many are far too familiar with allowing to shape their thinking.

Tragically it is someone who becomes a ‘so called friend’ to the people choosing to include them, simply because they are tricked into feeling safer with them.

I wonder how often you are far to quick to call on this ‘so called friend’ when dealing with others just because that person or those people may be different to you?

The ‘So Called Friend’ Who… I am talking about, is….

stigma1

