Tags

, , ,

This morning, as I do most mornings, I got up, washed, dressed and then went and made a coffee before; going to my office, taking my meds and then reading through my emails.  Among the emails that I get each morning are notifications of posts made on the different blogs that I follow.  And among them was one entitled ‘The Little Things‘ from my blogging buddy Pim over at ‘Pride In Madness‘.

In it Pim talks about something from her past which is seemingly little but which has obviously had an impact on her.  Its an excellent post and well worth a read!  And it gave me the idea for the following game…

Little and not so Little things from Childhood

Simply answer the following questions in your own way. Giving as much or as little information as you want to.  But where possible, and applicable, please remember to tell us what age you were at the time relevant to each answer.  Don’t forget to link back here so others can see your answers.

  1. What is the first childhood memory that comes to mind?
  2. Did you have a imaginary friend or friends when you were a child?
  3. What was your favourite television program or show as a child?
  4. What is the first lie you can remember telling?
  5. What is the first good thing or kindness you can remember doing?
  6. What was your most favourite meal when you were a child?
  7. What was your least favourite meal when you were a child?
  8. First book you can remember reading?
  9. Favourite book as a child?
  10. Were you ever part of a gang as a child?
  11. Favourite toy/teddy bear from your childhood?
  12. What was your most favourite sweet or candy from your childhood.
  13. Tell us about the first school trip that you can remember going on.
  14. First record/track you remember listening to?
  15. First record/track you ever bought for yourself?
  16. Favourite comic read as a child?
  17. Favourite movie as a child?
  18. Favourite place to visit as a child?
  19. Favourite subject/class at school?
  20. Did you ever insist on being called by a different name or nick name?
  21. An adult neighbour you MOST get on with?
  22. Favourite smell from your childhood?
  23. What place or area did your parents say was ‘out of bounds’ but that you used to go to anyway?
  24. Did you ever shoplift (steal from the local store)?
  25. First dare you were ever given?
  26. Most embarrassing moment you remember?
  27. If you could show us one place from your childhood where would it be?
  28. Were you sporty, geeky, arty? How would you describe yourself in those contexts?
  29. Favourite article of clothing?
  30. One thing said about you as a child?
  31. Favourite game you played as a child?
  32. Favourite childhood pastime?

Additional Challenge:  Over the next week pick three of those answers and write posts about them sharing more about them and how you think they have impacted your life.

And in the interest of fair play, here are my answers to those questions…

1.  What is the first childhood memory that comes to mind?

Letting off a fire extinguisher in the church hall.  I think I was about 8 years old at the time and it was on the side of the stage in the church hall.  Everyone else was in the church hall doing stuff and I was bored so had gone exploring on the stage. I found the fire extinguisher tucked away at the side of the stage and wanted to know how it worked.  (I had a very inquiring mind.)  So when I was checking it over and trying to see how it worked I accidentally set it off.  This would have been some 44 years ago now and it was the kind that once you had set it off you couldn’t stop it.  It went everywhere and I and the surrounding area was covered in the stuff.  Man did I get into trouble for that one.

2.  Did you have a imaginary friend or friends when you were a child?

I really don’t think that I did.  At least I can’t remember actually having any.  I had two brothers and a sister and maybe felt that was enough.

3.  What was your favourite television program or show as a child?

I am sure that I had several, but the one which came to mind first was ‘Paulus the Wood Gnome.”  I looked it up on Youtube and here it is.  I can’t believe I actually enjoyed it! LOL

4.  What is the first lie you can remember telling?

Oh now this one came readily to mind.  I have very few memories from my early childhood, but this one survives.  I must have been 5 years old, and it was my first week at infant school.  But I ran off instead of going to school and when I got caught I lied and said that on the way to school I had been chased by some older boys.  I remember being really upset and crying – actually because I had been caught – but the teachers thought it was because I had been frightened by the older boys chasing me. (of course they didn’t know that I had made them up).  The teachers were so concerned for me and so nice to me and fussed over me.  I do remember that I felt horrible that they were being so kind as a result of my lies.  So the nicer they were the worse I felt.

5.  What is the first good thing or kindness you can remember doing?

It was at Junior school.  I think I would have been 8 or 9 years old at the time and I caught another boy my age bullying one of the first years (7 year olds) and forcing him to hand over his money.  I stopped him from bullying the kid ad forcing money off of him.  We had a big fight in the playground and got into all kinds of trouble,  But funnily enough that bully became my best friend and wasn’t a bad kid at all really.  But that’s a different story.

6.  What was your most favourite meal when you were a child?

That just has to be the Sunday Roast.  It was a feature throughout my childhood and then into my early adulthood.  And became something that, no matter what else was going on in the world, we would all do as a family.  Sit round the dinner table together and enjoy Roast Pork, Beef or Chicken.  Both Roasted and Mashed potatoes, Vegetables, Yorkshire Puddings and gravy.  Followed – very often – by trifle for dessert!

7.  What was your least favourite meal when you were a child?

Liver!  Oh how I hated the stuff.  I recall one time ( I was probably 9 or 10 years old) when I defiantly refused to eat it.  My father refused to let me leave the table until I had eaten it and I sat there refusing to do so.  Come bed time I was still sat there and was sent to bed having first been disciplined.  But as sore as my butt was, I felt I had won! Believing this right up until breakfast the next morning when the same plate of food now all dried up and cold was served up to me again.

8.  First book you can remember reading?

adventures-of-the-wishing-chair-2Enid Blyton’s ‘Adventures of The Wishing Chair.’ I am not sue this was the first book I actually read but it certainly is the first book I can remember reading.  I was about 7 years old I guess. It inspired my imagination and was part of a collection of books that she wrote. Actually, I later bought and still have the set in my library.

9.  Favourite book as a child?

OK. I have two…

The first and probably my most favourite as a child was a huge old family King James bible. It had wooden covers and golden edges to it’s pages and beautiful full page colour pictures within it.  I loved it!  And I read it endlessly.

The second is the Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien.   I would have been about 10 years old when I first discovered it and devoured both it and the whole set of books in the series.  I never imagined it would ever become a set of movies or that it would become such a popular story.  But I simply lost myself within the pages of those books.  And again I now own the set.

10.  Were you ever part of a gang as a child?

Yes, the Graveyard Gang.  I would have been 9, 10 or 11 at the time and we lived next to a graveyard/cemetery, with our back wall also being the surrounding wall to the graveyard.  You would not believe some of the things we got up to!

11.  Favourite toy/teddy bear from your childhood?

This would have to be toy soldiers.  I would have had them from about 5 years old to about 13 or 14 I guess.  I used to spend hours setting them up and hiding snipers and things in the rockery in our garden.  Lol I often spent so much time hiding them and setting them up that I never actually had time to have the actual battles with them.

cirpean12.  What was your most favourite sweet or candy from your childhood.

Mmm. Candied peanuts.  I loved them. ( Again I would have been about 8 – 10 years old)

13.  Tell us about the first school trip that you can remember going on.

Interestingly, I don’t remember any school trips in any level of detail.  I know that we went on them. I just can’t remember any of them. Other than I do have a very vague recollection of us visiting the Dockyard and also the Roman Mosaic at Fishbourne I think. (As for my age?  Well it would have been sometime during junior school so between 7 and 11 years of age.)

14.  First record/track you remember listening to?

I do remember that I used to listen to a couple of story LPs.   It was of course back in the days of vinyl and actual records.  I was around 8 when I got them and had two – probably handed down from my older brother – which were: ‘The story of the Alamo’, and  ‘A Tale about Davy Crockett’.  For a small boy growing up in Southern England they were extremely exciting.

15.  First record/track you ever bought for yourself?

Killer Queen by Queen.  I would have been about 10 years old.  I think a lot of my musical tastes were influenced by my older brother.  And I absolutely loved this song and indeed the group Queen.

16.  Favourite comic read as a child?

This would have been, “The Beano” or “The Dandy”  and again I would have been 6 – 10 years old.

17.  Favourite movie as a child?

KesI think I would have been about 10 years old when I first saw the film ‘Kes’.  It was a recently new film (at that time it would have been 1972 and the film was made in 1969).  It was shown in school during one of our longer English classes and it really impacted me.  Based on the book ‘A Kestrel For a Knave’  written by Brad Hayes, it was the story about poverty and a young boy who has and looks after a kestrel.  We had been reading the book in our English lessons and then watched the film.

18.  Favourite place to visit as a child?

This has to be the beach.  I have a real fondness for the beach and for rivers.  When my depression really kicks in and bad thoughts take over that is where you will find me.  At the beach or at  the river.

19.  Favourite subject/class at school?

Has to be History.  I just loved history, but Art, English Language and English Literature came close to it.

20.  Did you ever insist on being called by a different name or nick name?

No.  Not that I remember.  When I lived on the streets later on I went by the name Danny and my street name was Doc.  But they aren’t really from my childhood.

21.  An adult neighbour you MOST get on with?

Hm.  No-one really comes to mind.  My friend’s parents all seemed to like me though 🙂

22.  Favourite smell from your childhood?

LOL Roast dinners.

23.  What place or area did your parents say was ‘out of bounds’ but that you used to go to anyway?

The graveyard over our back wall.  But since we had a little gang called the Graveyard Gang, going there was all part of that.  (7-12 years old)

24.  Did you ever shoplift (steal from the local store)?

Yes. From the local sweet shop and I do remember doing ‘bob a job’ week when I was a cub scout (8 years old I would guess) and getting a small job in the local supermarket.  ‘Bob a job’ week was a week where cubs and scouts from the local cub or scout troop (of which I was one) would do odd jobs for people and get paid and the money went to charity.  I got a small job folding up and flattening old cardboard boxes in the local supermarket.  Which meant me working unsupervised in their warehouse out back.  The same warehouse where they stored chocolate.  You can guess the rest.

25.  First dare you were ever given?

The first one I can remember was to go skinny dipping (swimming naked) one evening. (I was about 8)

26.  Most embarrassing moment?

I would have to say the first time I got naked in front of girls.  We (a group of us local boys and girls – probably all around 7 or 8 years old – sometimes used to play a game called “Cat’s got the measles.”  The game isn’t important but basically it was a form of strip poker just without the need for cards.  The loser being the one who ended up being naked.

27.  If you could show us one place from your childhood where would it be?

A place called Portsdown Hill.  I used to go camping there (9-16 years old) and I loved it.

28.  Were you sporty, geeky, arty? How would you describe yourself in those contexts?

I guess I was an arty geek.  LOL Nothing has changed much there.

29.  Favourite article of clothing?

Again nothing springs readily to mind.  But it would probably have been my Royal Marine Cadet uniform. (7-11 years old I think)

30.  One thing said about you as a child?

Oh there were lots of things and plenty of them not so nice.  The most repetitive thing at school (7-16 years old) was “He has a brilliant mind but just won’t apply it because he gets bored with what we are teaching.”

Outside of school it was that I was ‘weird’ and too much of a ‘loner’. Preferring adult company to that of my peers.

And the one repeated statement that I have always remembered, (but which wasn’t intentionally designed to be nasty) was “Why can’t you be more like your brothers or sister?” (7-16 years old)

31.  Favourite game you played as a child?

I have no idea what it was called.  But my mother was a seamstress and so had lots of reels of sewing cotton around.  I used to take some and then we would tie the end of a real of cotton to one door knocker, run across the street to the house opposite wrap it round the door knocker of that house and then follow that pattern zigzagging up the street.  Then you would knock the door of the first house and run.  When they opened their door it would pull the cotton thus knocking the door opposite.  Of course the cotton would break as the door opened wide.  So no one knew what had happened.  The game was to see who could cause the most doors to open in a series.

32. Favourite childhood pastime?

Reading.  From the age of 7 right through my childhood I loved to read.  It is a pastime that has stayed with me.

Ok So there you have them.  My ‘Little and Not So Little things from Childhood’ answers.

I hope you weren’t too bored by them and I hope you will play the game on your blog/site.  Don’t forget that if you do play it, comment below and include a link back here so I can read your answers. 🙂

