Tags

, , ,

30-day-challenge27Day 27: Explain a “good” day.

I think that the most simplistic explanation of a “good day” would, for me personally, be that a ‘good day’ for me is one where…

Basic requirements of a ‘good day’…

a) My mind is clear.

b) The dialogues and thoughts are fairly inactive. (They are never totally inactive)

c) When I don’t have to focus a great deal of energy on repairing damage done on previous “bad” days.

d) When I am able to focus and achieve things.

e)  Where I am facing the one reality and not a series or alternate ones.

f) Where I can bring happiness or joy or laughter to others.

g) Where I can support others.

h) When I can be creative.

i) When I am able to be free to interact socially.

j) One where I can read freely, listen to praise and worship music freely study my bible freely and pray freely.

h) One where most (or all) of the above apply and where nothing is being forgotten, ignored – where no damage is being done behind the scenes.

latest-good-morning-wallpaperUnderstanding those Basic Requirements…

And as I look at that list of things which go to make up a good day. I really don’t think that it is a very demanding or complicated list on the face of it.

And of course I am, in respect of the ‘being able’ or ‘being free’ statements within that list, referring to where my mind and/or my body – where my mental and physical health – allows me to ‘be able’ or to ‘be free’.

I say that because as I re-read the above list I am aware that many people are not able to have those things.  Not as a result of poor mental or poor physical health (although of course there are some who, like me, this is true of) but because of a lack of social, political, economic or religious freedom.

Perspective not Denial…

In a world where there is so much social injustice, so much violence, so much; poverty, illness, war, oppression, starvation etc.  You only have to have a social conscience or at least some basic level of compassion and objectivity in order to realize that as bad as your day or life at times may seem, there others in this world who have it far worse.

I do, freely and openly, recognize this and the fact that what I generally go through – with my mental and physical health issues – is very little compared to a what a lot of people in this world go through.  And I know a lot of folk suffering from mental or physical illness who also recognize this fact but who then convince themselves that their own suffering does not matter.

But is it not true that the presence or level of one person’s suffering does not negate another person’s?

Today’s challenge question is not about comparing ourselves to others.  It instead called for me to ‘explain’ a ‘good day’ for me personally.  And this by definition requires me to recognize the differences between or opposites to a ‘bad day’.  To look at either the presence of those things which are not present on a ‘bad’ day or those things which are present on a ‘bad day’ and absent on a ‘good day’.

I am, so very grateful and so very blessed by the ‘good days’ that I have.  And I try very hard – within my mental illness(es) – to hold onto the fact that I do have them and am so very fortunate to have them.

I am going to close this post with a picture containing quote that I came up with some time ago.

If you are someone who experiences mental illness(es) or poor mental health and have convinced yourself that because others seem have it far worse that you, you or your suffering does not really matter.

Or, if you are someone who does not experience mental illness or poor mental health and who thinks that there are much worse things in life to worry about.

Then I respectfully ask you to reflect on the following words and see how true they ring to you.

Suffering Quote

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Suffering should never be turned into a competitive or comparative matter.  For the minute we allow this to happen we disrespect the individual and have already set limitations on both our compassion and our support.  Either for others or for ourselves.

 

 

