changeschallengesaheadYou know how sometimes your day seems to start with a whole stream of different things happening which cause you stop for a moment and think “OK, so it is going to be one of those days”?

Well I get the feeling – judging by the end of last year and the beginning of this year – that this is just going to the one of those years! LOL.

My health, as many of you will know, took quite a battering last year.  And at the end of the year (around Christmas and beyond) I started to feel a great deal of pain in my knees and legs and any movement took a great deal of effort and caused a great deal of pain.  Even sitting at my desk in my study was painful and as a consequence of this my blogging has suffered greatly.

Health wise this year has started in much the same way as last year ended.

Visits to the doctor and A & E – and regular readers will know how much I dislike having to go to doctors or hospitals.  Orders to keep the legs elevated and give them plenty of rest.  Gels, pain pills, ice packs and heating pads all seem to be the order of the day every day and I have to tell you that it all gets very tedious very quickly!

On other fronts I have been blessed by the wonderful news that my son and his partner are expecting a baby!  I am so delighted for them both!

And this was followed by the news that my wife now wants to divorce me.  But the plain fact it that we have been separated for some 9 years now and so it wasn’t completely unexpected. 🙂

So yes, I think that it is safe to say that this year is lining up to be a year of changes and challenges.

But we have a choice don’t we?  We either choose to see these things as obstacles in life or as challenges in life.

I think it was the author Roger Crawford who said…

Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.

And that is certainly a good way of looking at it isn’t it?

As a Christian I often refer to my Bible for guidance and I am reminded of the words of James 1:2-4, which (in the NKJV) read…

My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.

And that is the attitude that I am going to face this year with!  This year may be a year of challenges but, if it is, then it is one that I will meet head on, with faith and confidence!

In truth I, like so many, don’t have total control on my mental or physical health.  But I do have some control on how I choose to respond to them and how much influence they get to have on my life.  And I do have some control on the decision and actions I take to deal with and improve them.

 

