Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

touch-the-hem-of-his-garment_thumbPerhaps one of the well known accounts in the bible is that of the woman who touched the hem of Christ’s robe and was healed.

It can be found in Mark 5:25-34  and also in Matthew 9:20-22 and Luke 8:40 – 48 and it tells the story of a woman who touched the hem of Christ’s garment and who was healed as a result of doing so and more importantly as a result of her faith.

It’s a wonderful account and one that I can relate to on so many levels.  The woman had been suffering for years.  She had faith that Christ had the power, authority and ability to choose to heal her.  She reached out to Him.

As I said I can relate to her on so many levels.  I too have been ill for years. I too have faith that Christ has the power, authority and ability to choose to heal me.  I too have reached out to Him.

But of course there is one important difference (other than the fact that I am a guy).  And that difference begs the question “What if?”

What if instead of healing her, Christ had reached down and lifted her into His arms and carried her home and tended to her?  What if He; comforted her, encouraged and supported her?  What if He had some purpose in not healing her right there and then?  Would He be any less the Christ? Any less the Son of God?  Any less God Himself?

If God is indeed sovereign with the power, authority and ability to choose to heal me, does He not also have the same power, authority and ability to choose not to heal me, or to do so at a time and place more fitting to His purpose for my life?

See I fully believe Christ can heal and that one day He will heal me but I recognize ad acknowledge the truth of my life and the examples in the bible where healing hasn’t been instant and I yield to His sovereign will for my life in health and in sickness as well.

know-compassionAnd what is more I recognize, acknowledge and give thanks for the times when He has reached down and lifted me into His arms and carried me home and tended to me!  When He; comforted me, encouraged me and supported me through the really difficult times of my illnesses both physical and mental!

What if Christ has some purpose in not healing me right there and then?  Would He be any less the Christ? Any less the Son of God?  Any less God Himself?

Absolutely Not!

