Tags

, , , ,

sad on facebookI read an interesting article this morning. and so I thought I would share it with you the reader and invite your comments.

The article featured in NHS Choices the UK’s National Health Service’s website magazine and was under the headline “Could Using Facebook make you sad?

This article focused on a piece in the Daily Mirror Newspaper and stated that…

“The paper reports on a small, short study that found that the more young people used Facebook, the worse they felt, and the more dissatisfied they were with life. The amount they used Facebook reduced how well they said they were currently feeling and how satisfied they were with their lives.”

It then went on to say that…

Researchers wanted to know if already unhappy people increase their time using Facebook, or if using Facebook will make people less happy. They claim to have established a definite “direction of travel” in their results: that Facebook use leads to sadness, but not vice versa. However, this claim would need to be validated by larger, longer-term, studies.

Personally I am very careful about what I will or will not allow on my timeline or page on Facebook and have over time learned to filter out as much cursing, bad attitudes and negativity as I can. Not only because of the way that I found it could affect me but because by being on my page/timeline it is therefore linked through to others whom I care about.

That is not to say that I filter out those posts who are legitimately non-positive and who have a good cause to be.  I am just very careful about what I expose myself and others too 🙂

So what do you all think?  Can Facebook bring you down?  Does it effect you?

Facebook-Makes-People-Unhappy-Study-Finds

 

