Tags

, , ,

I am not sure what it is lately but I have been giving a lot of thought to the stigma that we face as mental health sufferers and indeed that a lot of folk face as a result of many different issues circumstances and situations.

Stigma does so much damage doesn’t it?  It hurts and cripples and it closes doors to so many people. Doors that should be open to them more, in many cases than to most other folk because the need is so often greater.

Doorways to belonging, to tolerance, to understanding, to kindness – dare I say it – to acceptance?

I have written many times – either specifically in a dedicated post or incidentally within other posts, about isolation and what it can do to a person.  UI have also mentioned the isolation which I face for most of my week and how I seem, on the face of things to be able to cope – almost to prefer this.

And yet the more I reflect on stigma and what it does to us the more I question whether or not I have simply – as a result of circumstance – taken an easier option or become accustomed to what it basically a wrong situation.

This afternoon something appeared on my Facebook page which made me once again sit up and think.  It is a song performed by artists – street artists effectively – from across the world and it starts with the statement …

This song says, “No matter who you are, no matter where you go in life, at some point you’re gonna need somebody to stand by you.”

I really hope you enjoyed this video clip as much as I did.  But even more so I hope that…

If you, like me, have been a victim of stigma inflicted on you by others YOU truly know that YOU are not alone. or

If you are usually the one inflicting that stigma or treating others badly as a result of it, YOU are better than that and YOU can make a difference by not being that way.

So I leave you with this thought…

No matter who WE are, no matter where WE go in life, at some point WE‘re gonna need somebody to stand by US.

