Tags

, , , , , ,

…and Surviving The Attacks!

 

calm-before-storm-1

Well it has been days since my last post.  The truth is that I have been really struggling mentally of late.  I haven’t even been able to get to Church or Bible study lately and I can’t begin to tell you how much this has been affecting my mental health.

I am incredibly mindful at this time, having read some of the blogs that I usually follow, that actually this is quite a minor thing compared to what others seem to be going through at the moment, and yet, as minor as it is, it is a huge thing to me.

But then that is often how poor mental health works isn’t it?  Things that others may view as being small, insignificant or unimportant are so very important to us personally and certainly I try to remember that when reading other folk’s blogs.

That it isn’t how I would or do respond to such situations as they are going through but how they respond to them and I try to love and pray through that perspective.

Prayer2

In fact my mental health seems to be pivoting on a knife’s edge at the moment and I am struggling to keep myself stable.  That is not to say that I do not know which way to lean if I sense myself staring to fall.

It is at times like these when I like to, need to, take stock. To look at what I have still been able to achieve and to build on those things whilst cautiously, carefully addressing the things that I still need to achieve.

Checklist1There is little doubt that there are things that need attending to but the question is how to attend to them…

Prayerfully building on that which I have already been able to achieve is certainly a good place to start.  But at the same time being realistic about what I still have to do.

Additionally I need to be mindful of what I am “able” for in my current state of mind, whilst at the same time being mindful of anything that needs my attention now.

This is so that it does not become a major headache or issue within the next few days thus negatively effecting my current delicate mental state.

Being open and honest with others when you are in this kind of mental state can be so very difficult can’t it?  But then being open and honest with yourself can be equally as difficult.

But that openness and honesty is, in my opinion, the doorway to getting the help that you need at times like this.  That is providing of course that such help is available to you and you know how to access it.

I entitled this post “Standing Firm In The Struggles…”…And Surviving The Attacks!” and I did that for a reason.

I have often written of how, in my experience and opinion, our emotional, mental, physical and spiritual health all interact with each other in respect of our well-being.

As a Christian I have long-since learned that my help comes from the Lord, and He has to be the very first port of call at times such as these.

But as a Christian I am not an isolated or solitary person and nor am I meant to be. I am member of Christ’s family and that help should also come through my brothers and sisters in Christ.  I have little to no doubt that my not having been able to get to church lately has affected my mental health and I have little doubt that my current mental state is – to some degree or another – part of an attack.

So I stand on the encouragements to be found in the full armor of God as described in Ephesians 6 and I remember especially the words of Ephesians 6:13

Eph-6.13

 

