Tags

This morning I learned that I or rather this blog (well maybe both) have again been nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award.

wpid-versatile-blogger-award-2

The nomination, comes from Minted Moose over at ‘My Life, My Way, My Words!‘ and I am of course very grateful that she should consider me and this blog for this award.

The rules for the award are as follows…

1. Display the Award Certificate on your website  – done

2. Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award – done

3. Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers – see comment below

4. Drop them a comment to tip them off after you’ve linked them in the post – done

5. Post 7 interesting things about yourself – see below

My Nominations…

Because of my current health, and the fact that I have previously nominated several blogs and bloggers for this award, I am going to respectfully skip the whole nominating others part of this award and hope that folk understand.

But so as not to cheat anyone here are my 7 interesting facts about myself (although I doubt they will be very interesting but they are facts at least)

My Facts…

Fact 01.  I have only ever travel internationally twice in my life and one of those times is dubious as to whether you would call it internationally.  Once was with my wife and son to Jersey (one of the Channel Islands) and the other was over here to Ireland in order to relocate here.

channelmap

Fact 02.  I have only ever flown three times in my life.  Once a boy when I was in the Royal Marine Cadets I got to fly in (and for a brief moment or two actually operate) a helicopter, and the other two times were those short 25 minute flights too and from Jersey.  And I have to tell you that Jersey is a lovely place for a nice quiet relaxing holiday!

army.mil-2006-12-13-142838

Fact 03.  Whilst I am very much ‘pro-life’ I do strongly believe that all too often, as is often the case with many causes) the feelings and hurts and fears of people are ignored, abused or neglected within the passions that are held concerning the issue.

Fact 04.  I am fundamentally opposed to any form of fundamentalism 🙂  Sorry couldn’t resist that one.  But it is true I am very cautious of most forms of fundamentalism.

Fundamentalismno

Fact 05.  I am a pipe smoker.  Have been for some time now and I thoroughly enjoy being one – even though I know that it is not good for my health or the health of those around me.  Although I hardly ever smoke my pipe in the company of others within enclosed areas unless they too smoke.

Fact 06.  Whilst I am really into technology and gadgets and do indeed have a kindle and whilst I do of course recognize the benefits that they offer, I am so very old fashioned in many of my ways and attitudes and far prefer a good old fashioned printed book.

Fact 07.  And on the subject of books, very few things wind me up or irk me nowadays but one thing that does still irk me is when people highlight or underline or mark or fold the page corners over in books.  Yes I know it is their book and they can do what they like with it but for me it reduces the value of a book and means that should you wish to lend the book to a friend they then are subjected to you additions etc.  (Hm. should fact 8 be that I can be a grumpy old git sometimes?)

dog-ear

So there you have it.

Again my thanks go to Minted Moose over at ‘My Life, My Way, My Words!‘ for this very kind invitation and my apologies for not repeating the nominations process.

 

