Tags

,

One of the benefits of being sick and not having the energy to do very much at all really is that some thing don’t require you to do very much at all really.

And laying in bed watching a movie is one of those things.

Now laying in bed and doing nothing is not something that comes naturally to me.  I like to be active, keep busy and at very least keep my mind occupied.  But, since any time that I have been able to get up has been swallowed up by editing a boxing video for my son 🙂  having a film or three to lay in bed and watch has been a very real blessing!

And what a blessing it was!

picture courtesy of www.imdb.com

picture courtesy of http://www.imdb.com

The film “War Horse” is a wartime drama with a difference featuring, in the main, on the exploits of – yes no prizes for guessing it, a horse.

And yet it is so much more than this.

Starring Jeremy Irvine, Emily Watson and David Thewlis it is a really excellent film in my opinion and one which moved me to all kinds of different emotions and thoughts and reflections as the plot played out.

Not being one who is in the habit of writing spoilers let me just say that it is without doubt a film which touches the heart and which is made with wonderful cinematography, excellent scenery, marvelous music and a great deal of heart to boot!

Nominated for I think some 6 Oscars, it runs for some 146 minutes and is captivating if, like me, you have a softer side to your nature.

More details concerning this film can be found at the Imdb site (which I strongly recommend to anyone into movies) but suffice to say that I am really grateful to the dear friend who sent it to me and o very thankful for the chance to sit (or in my case lay) and watch it.

I am also very thankful that I did so alone as the site of me full of flu, coughing and spluttering and so very bunged up and yet still managing to cry my eyes out at certain parts of the film is not something I would wish to share or recommend to anyone LOL.

And on a really bright note to it all. I am, feeling a lot better today and even got to sit up for a while and watch the movie “Prometheus” this evening.  Now that is a very different film.  But that is perhaps the subject of another review 🙂

