Tags

, , , , ,

Continuing on in our Try Looking At It Through My Eyes Challenge

TTLAITMEC

Day Six – “The Support Group”  If you could start a support group specific to your mental illness what would it do, what activities, what purpose etc and what would you call it?

I think if I were to start a support group, which I probably wouldn’t do in person for reasons of my ill-health and lack of mobility, it would be on the internet and in some ways this is what the Mental Health Writer’s Guild is all about.

But there are other blogs that I have started which are also intended to be of a support group nature and I find that I struggle with these.

Blogs such as “Resonate Freedom From Self-Harming” the name of which, I think explains it’s purpose.

Resonate

I started this blog as the subject is such an important issue for me and yet I truly struggle in keeping this blog going and feel that I am failing somehow with it.

I sometimes write things for this site and then think no it is to graphic and so don’t publish them.  I am at a bit of a loss with it.  My heart says it is needed and will take off but my head says, close it down and don’t give yourself the grief.

Another blog/site that I run – also for the purpose of offering support and information is Christian Concern For Mental Health. Its purpose is several-fold but includes the support and encouragement for Christians who suffer from poor mental health or from mental illness.

CC4MH

It is still in the early stage and I am praying over the direction for both this one and for “Resonate Freedom.”  But support will, I am convinced, be a big part of each of them.

