Tags

, ,

30DayChallenge29The penultimate day of my 30 Day Challenge and in some ways I will be sorry to see this challenge end. But it does mean that I will be free to do the next challenge which will be the ‘Try Looking At It Through My Eyes’ Challenge.

I figure if I felt it was ok to deign the challenge I should put my money where my mouth is (so to speak) and actually do the challenge myself.

But I digress, back to this challenge and to the last but one subject/question.  Which is….

Five weird things that you like.

Hm.  Do I even have 5 weird things that I like?  Well let’s see now.

In Five – Porridge/Oatmeal Sandwiches!

IMG_5367

OK well maybe not actual sandwiches like the one in the picture.  What I do like is to have a couple of slices of bread and butter when I have my porridge and to eat these whilst eating my porridge.  It is so yummy!

(OK stop judging me people the question called for weird remember!) Lol

In Four – Smoking my pipe!

AuthorPic6

In a world where any form of smoking is frowned upon (and probably rightly so) and the choice to do so is seen as weird I think this one probably qualifies.

But I love the contemplative mood it places me in and I really like the fact that having formally smoked upwards of 3 packs of cigarettes a day the pipe (which I hardly ever actually inhale) is much cheaper and much healthier.

In three – Classical Music

34520_home_feature_classicalmusic

Yes I admit it – Enters small room containing a circle of folk sitting sheepishly on chairs saying nothing and takes his seat.  The leader looks at me and says, “Welcome. since this is your first time perhaps you would like to introduce yourself and tell everyone why you have joined  the group.”

Nervously I stand up.  “Um, man this is hard,”

“It’s OK,” says a friendly looking redhead to my left. “We have all been there and we all understand.”

Taking comfort from her words, I clear my throat and try again.  “Um, OK, my name is Kevin and I have a problem.  I like classical music”

The ensemble of like-minded kindred outcasts clap and welcome me to “Al – Classical” the classical music lovers equivalent of Alcoholics Anonymous.

LOL yeah I know it sounds silly but in a world were fast and loud and repetitive noise seems to qualify as music being a classical music lover is, trust me, often seen as weird!

In Two – wait for it – Deconstructed Grilled Cheese Sandwiches!

See now that has you all interested hasn’t it?  How do you deconstruct a grilled cheese sandwich?

Well, this is a throw back to my childhood.  You get a small side plate and grate some REAL cheese onto it making sure to cover the whole plate fairly thinly.  Place the plate of cheese under the grill and grill it until golden brown.

Whilst it is grilling butter (and I mean real butter) some bread and when the cheese is golden brown carefully remove the plate and ea the cheese direct from the plate using a fork whilst nibbling on the bread and butter.  (Works well with toast too.)

It is wonderful!

In one – (Fanfare and drum roll please)  My daughter Nicky and all my kids!  (Well it did say weird) Oh OK only joking!  They aren’t that weird! (Much)

Ok so truly In one –  Being a Christian.

praise-god

In a world where having any faith in God is either ridiculed or seen as being offensive or politically incorrect I certainly think it qualifies as being weird.  And what a sad indictment of us as a race that this should be the case.

The historical evidence (including independent objective evidence) proving the existence of Christ is, in my opinion, overwhelming and yet still we refuse to believe and those who do believe are often shunned mistreated or seen as weird.

Well I for one am not going to hide or give up my faith in Christ or my belief in God and I for one am not going to have anyone dictate to me what I can or cannot believe.

I believe in God the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit and if that is weird so be it! I am weird.

19 If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you.  (John 15:19 NIV)

So there you have them – my Five Weird things.  I hope you enjoyed them.

