Tags

, , , ,

30DayChallenge27

And I am coming towards the end of this my 30 Day Challenge.

I have to say that I have enjoyed doing it but as I mentioned in my last post I have found some of the questions to be a little tame or that simply didn’t seem to fit me somehow.  Which is why I ( with the help of my daughter Nicky) designed and launched the “Try Looking At It Through My Eyes Challenge“.
TTLAITMEC

Today’s question/subject in the 30 Day Challenge is, “a quote you try to live by.” and I have to be honest and admit that there are numerous quotes (mainly scriptural) that I really do take to my heart and try to live by.

But if I had to choose but one it would be this one…

soli-deo-gloria-1024x451

picture courtesy of Mind of clay.org http://mindofclay.org/?p=16

“Soli Deo Gloria” sometimes also referred to as “Soli Gloria Deo”.

picture courtsey of Wikipedia

picture courtesy of Wikipedia

“Soli Deo Gloria” simply means “Glory To God Alone” or (put another way) “to God alone be the glory“.  A Latin phrase and having been used by such artists as Back, Graupner, and Handel (see pic to the left) and I truly like this phrase and do try to remember it always.

Why?

Well here’s the deal….

Firstly, it clearly recognizes God’s place in our lives.  Not only that He has a place in our lives but that He should be first and foremost in our lives.

Secondly, it recognizes that things are worth showing “Glory” and that said “Glory” should go solely to God.

Holmans Bible Dictionary defines Glory (in this context) as being “the weighty importance”  or “honor”.  Each and every one of us is, in my opinion a miracle in ourselves and a miracle created by God.

I recently wrote about humility and how poor self-image and humility are two different things.

Poor self-image is to rob ourselves of the very value God Himself places upon us.  Humility is to recognize that value in ourselves and in others but to place these in the context of the worth and majesty and rightful sovereign place of God and to place that and then others before ourselves.

Used by ‘the Reformers‘ as one of the expressions that summed up what life should be about.
37defn-soli-deo-gloria

I use it not to devalue anything that I accomplish but instead to recognize that if I do have any gifts, they come from God and should be used for His glory and His glory alone.

So there you have it.  The phrase I like to live by.

