Tags

, ,

Day 21 in my 30 Day Challenge and today’s challenge is about the future not the past.

How you hope your future will be like?

But I know the past!” My mind shouts. “I don’t know the future!

Well duh,” I retort back, “that’s kind of the point. Don’t you think?

And yes I frequently have these conversations with my mind since it often seems to be separate to me.

And as I think about this question, the more I have but one scripture coming to mind and the more I realize just how short a response this one is going to be.

34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:34 NIV)

The thing is that I really don’t worry about tomorrow or even give tomorrow much thought really.  Today really is enough for me to focus on each day.

I remember writing a poem about it some years back.  It is called Tomorrow Never Comes and if you are interested you can listen to it on “Deep From Within” my poetry blog by clicking here.  But since it is so short here it is in text…

Tomorrow Never Comes.

Today is just a poem,
Yesterday’s a rhyme
Tomorrow’s simply nothing,
until the end of time…….

Of course time never ends only our time on this earth will end, where we go from here, I believe, is entirely up to us and the choices that we make.

As a father I do of course occasionally wonder what the future will hold for my children, but then are they not God’s children first and foremost?

If I truly believe, as I do, that my children, both biological and adopted, are a gift of God and if I truly recognize, which I do, God’s sovereignty in my life, must I not also recognize his sovereign right in their lives also?

I love my kids, really love them, and I thank God for each and every one of them and I love my Father in heaven also.  So when I think of the future I hope but two things.

That my Father’s will be done and  His love shared, and that my children will find and know and realize His love and His will for each of their lives.

