Tags

, ,

Another day in my 30 Day Challenge that I am going to struggle to complete it seems.
The subject/question today is “Five items you lust after” and the truth is I can’t think of five things that I truly lust after.

Hm, am I in denial here? I really don’t think so.

But I openly accept that I am perhaps too literal in my thinking.

The literal translation of lust according to the Free Dictionary.com is …

1. Intense or unrestrained sexual craving.
2.

a. An overwhelming desire or craving: a lust for power.
b. Intense eagerness or enthusiasm: a lust for life.
3. Obsolete – Pleasure; relish.
intr.v. lust·ed, lust·ing, lusts
To have an intense or obsessive desire, especially one that is sexual.

And I really don’t have an “Intense or unrestrained sexual craving” for any one let alone and “item”.

So I am left with one of the others…

In respect of 2a. “An overwhelming desire or craving: a lust for power.”  I really can’t think of anything and whilst 2b and 3. “Intense eagerness or enthusiasm: a lust for life.” or “ObsoletePleasure; relish.” are possible we have already ruled out the last one”To have an intense or obsessive desire, especially one that is sexual.

So I guess I am going to have to go with 2b. “Intense eagerness or enthusiasm” albeit that I am really struggling to think of anything that I am that “intense” about.

I suppose the closest I would have come to it was in wanting a new phone and especially my new iPhone.  I just couldn’t see well enough to read my own phone and it was truly bugging me.  So I needed a new phone and since I do so much on the phone and need to be able to read the darn thing I really wanted and so got a new iPhone.

So that is at least one in answer to the question.


For number two I guess I would have to choose a Keurig K-Cup coffee maker and storage carousel.

Yeah I know I am just so boring.

But the plain simple truth is that I really would like this.  Because of my memory problems I am always going into the kitchen to make myself a cup of coffee, putting the kettle on and then wandering off to do something whilst the kettle is boiling and forgetting all about having put the kettle on.

So I end up boiling the kettle a number of times before I actually get around to making the coffee LOL.  Having a system like the Keurig K-cup would cut down on my really large electricity bills.

Which brings me to the next item, a timer for my Immersian heater.

Really exciting stuff huh?

Again this is a cost saving thing as just with the kettle, because of my memory problems I put the water heater on to heat the water to do some dishes of have a shower or something and then forget all about it and then hours later notice it has been on warming up far more water than I need and just burning money away and contributing to my really high fuel bills.

So that would be my third.

Ok gang really struggling here!  None of these so far do I really lust after and all of them are a need not a want.

OK try this one.  A Vespa 125cc scooter!

How’s that for more adventurous and a little more interesting perhaps!

But truth is that this still enters the area of need over want.

I don’t drive, never have, and because of my illnesses probably wouldn’t get a car license BUT I am fairly sure I could get a license to drive one of these.

It would make me far more mobile.  Cut down on taxi costs.  Get me out of the house more.  Enable me to fellowship more.  So yes one of those would be wonderful, but I am still not lusting after it so to speak.  If it happens it happens, if it doesn’t, it doesn’t.

So that would be number four in my list of items I lust after but not really lust after and more need than want.

And now I am stumped!  I just can’t think of a fifth.  I am I guess a man of a few simple needs and even less desires LOL

Sorry to be so boring.  But hey that is just the way it is. 🙂

The truth is God is good, He has blessed me with an abundant lack of needs and for that I am truly grateful.

