Tags

, , , ,

Day 15 in my 30 Day Challenge and I have to be honest here and say that at first glance I was beginning to wonder if it was such a good idea to take this challenge, since so many subjects/questions (such as today) I either have no interest in or simply don’t get involved in.

But then there are a number of them that I am more than happy to do or write about and even where (like today) it is a subject I personally don’t get involved in at least I can take a moment or two to explain why. 🙂

So what is today’s subject/question? Well it is this…

“Your Zodiac/horoscope and do you think it fits your personality?”

My zodiac sign is, as I recall from days before I became a Christian, Gemini, but hat is as far as I am willing to go in respect of that whole subject.

So why am I not into it?

Well there are, in my opinion, two sides to the whole zodiac and horoscope thing.

One is about personality or character and the other is about trying to predict predicting the future.  And in all truth I have issues with both of them.

IN respect of character and personality and it’s link to zodiac signs, whilst I accept that a lot of people are into it and indeed see a lot of evidence in it’s validity I have but one question concerning it in respect of faith in Christ Jesus.

The scriptures encourage us as Christian to ‘die to self’ and to ‘live according to the Spirit’.  To live as Christ would have us live.

20 That, however, is not the way of life you learned 21 when you heard about Christ and were taught in him in accordance with the truth that is in Jesus. 22 You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; 23 to be made new in the attitude of your minds; 24 and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness. (Ephesians 4:20-24 NIV)

What then should I do?  Look towards and consider myself in bondage to my old self – my old personality and character?  That which the Zodiac says is ‘usual’ for someone of my sign?  Or do I try to look instead to how our heavenly Father would have u live and how He has and is teaching me (us) to live through His word, through Christ and through the indwelling of the Holy Spirit?

Likewise am I not (as a result of having given my life to Christ) a new creation?

17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! (2 Corinthians 5:17 NIV)

So in terms of character and personality why then should I even worry about what I was “likely” to be like according to my sign. I am not governed by such things and for the record don’t believe anyone should allow themselves to be.

Which brings me to the second part of this whole subject. That of trying to predict the future.

For me this has two major warning bells ringing.  Firstly it demonstrates a lack of reliance on or faith in God and secondly (and intrinsically linked to the first point) it dilutes and damages our faith.

As a Christian I believe that the Bible is the inspired word of God and as a result of that belief I have serious concerns over the influence that horoscopes already have over people’s lives.

Read any general newspaper or magazine and you will no doubt find a horoscope section in it.  Folk seriously live their lives according to these things and yet do any of them point to God or encourage or increase faith in God?

Please do not get me wrong here, I seek not to judge or belittle anyone who is into this kind of thing, and I would hope that my regular readers would know me by now and know that is simply not my way. I can only speak for  myself and try to lovingly share my understanding and principles of these things.

The plain simple truth is that my belief in Jesus did not come out of my belief that the bible is the word of God.  My belief in the bible being the word of God came out of a personal experience and subsequent relationship with Jesus and the fact that it has proven itself time and time again to be true.

I love my Lord, always have and to the best of my knowledge and intention I always will and I trust in Him and steer clear of anything and anyone who seeks to reduce that love, that trust or harm that relationship.

My future, according to my heart-felt beliefs and convictions, is in His hands and is reliant on Him and on my staying close to Him and walking in His will.   God knows my needs and has my future planned.

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV)

Again, please let there be no misunderstanding here 🙂 I am not one who hold’s to the whole ‘prosperity’ or ‘name it and claim it’ style “God will give you whatever you want” philosophy as it is often taught.

Quite frankly I find the whole “God will give you whatever you want” belief to be a lie from the pits of hell as I firmly believe that God is far more responsible in character than that and will give you what you need according to His perfect will and not just what you decided you ‘want’.

When I was a child, in my parent’s care I looked to them for my needs.  As a child of God I now look to my heavenly Father for my needs , not as one who is helpless or forced to depend on Hi but as one who has the help He himself as a loving Heavenly Father has already provided – His love, His word, His will, Christ and the gift of the Holy Spirit.  What more could I want or need?  What use therefore do  I have for such things as the Zodiac and horoscopes, or anything else which draws me away from God for that matter?

