Tags

, ,

Day ten in my 30 Day Challenge and I have to admit that I have amazed myself that I have- so far – managed to post a post every day so far (although admittedly yesterday’s post didn’t actually get finished and posted till just after midnight.

And today’s question/subject is a relatively easy one…

Put your music player on shuffle and write the first ten songs that play”

Ok I can do that, and I e to tell you that the idea of hitting shuffle is such a good one as my OCD mean all of the songs on my player are in their respective albums.  So here are the first 10 songs courtesy of the shuffle feature…

1. Song: On My Own  Artist: Lea SalongaLes Miserables

Yes I love musical and especially West End musicals.  When we lived in England popping up the West End to catch a show was always  family treat for my wife and son and I. Les Miserables and this particular song are among my favorites.

2. Song: The Warrior Is a Child Artist: Gary Valenciano

This particular song has a special place in my heart.  The lyrics speak to me personally it seems.  So much so that I created an award around this song and the lyrics and you can find that award on the Mental Health Writers Guild site.

3. Song: Dance of Creation/Alleluia Artist: John Michael Talbot.

This particular song is one that I got purely because a friend recommended that I downloaded the album.  But hen that’ the beauty of the shuffle feature is it not?

4. Song: 1812 Overture Artist: Tchaickovsky

Yes OK I admit i.  I am  a bit of a classical music nut.  When I am studying I find songs with lyrics too distracting and so very often ill play classical music instead.  Tchaicovsky’s 1812 has been a favorite of mine since I was a child.  Sitting between two stereo speakers with the lights off and your eyes closed and playing it full blast may annoy the heck out of your neighbors but man does it inspire spectacular scenes in your mind.

5. Song: Forgiven Artist: Sanctus Real

Light-hearted by its initial presentation it is different to much of what I listen to but  deals with real issues and issues that I can so very much relate to!  I love the message of this song also.

6. Song: Does Anybody Here Her Artist: Casting Crowns

Casting Crowns!  Excellent group! I have to tell you that I adore the tone of this group and the message of this particular song.  Such a blessing – check out the lyrics if you have the time. 🙂

6. Song: Lovesong Artist: Adele

See it isn’t all Christian or Musicals or Classical music that I listen to!  I love Adele’s songs and have to admit I really do like Adele as a singer. She is real and down to earth and fame has not corrupted her.

7. Song: Homesick Artist: Mercy Me

Poppa and I love this song and it i one that comes from great personal loss.

“My wife’s only brother, Chris, was killed in a car wreck on Jan. 3,” says lead singer and primary songwriter Bart Millard, sitting with his MercyMe bandmates backstage at the Charleston Civic Center. “Chris was the eighth person to pass away in a four-week period who was somehow connected to our lives.”

That is a quote from www.TodaysChristianMusic.com and well worth the read if you liked the song.

8. Song: Hallelujah Artist: Askil Holm, Alejandro Fuentes, Kurt Nilsen, Epson Lind

Ah yes another excellent song and I really enjoyed this version of it.  I really hope you enjoyed it too!

9. Song: Home Again Artist: Michael Kiwanuka

More a bluesy feel to it this one but I really enjoyed this artist’s work and hope you all do too.  Check him out on You tube – well worth the listen.

10. Song: When It’s All Been Said and Done Artist: Robin Mark

I have to admit that I am amazed that Robin Mark or at very least more Christian music didn’t feature in this list given the proportion of Christian music to other music on my player.  But it does I guess show how random the shuffle feature is.

Actually to be honest this one was number 11 on the play list.  Number 10 however was one of my poems and I didn’t want to bore you with it. 🙂  I have them recorded on my player as I recorded them to upload onto my poetry blog.

So there you have them.  My shuffled 10 songs.  I really hope you enjoy them all.

