Tags

, , , , , , ,

I came across this song the other day and it really spoke to me.  To be honest it isn’t the kind of song that I would normally listen to.  As a music lover I have a very wide and eclectic taste in music but as a Christian I have  great passion for good Christian music and so tend to listen to that more than anything else.

When you have a faith but are isolated a lot of the time, Christian music can become more of a life-line for your faith than a mere distraction or entertainment.

But as I said I came across this song by Bonnie Raitt and it really spoke to me.

Why?  Well why does any song speak to you?  Because the lyrics speak of something so very close and so very personal to me.

Mental Illness and poor mental health can have such a varied impact on our live and also on our relationships can’t they? I certainly know that mine has.  SO I thought I would share this song with you.  Hey it isn’t that often that I share songs – although I do like to do so every now and again.

And I think instead of explaining in detail just why it speaks to me, I will copy and paste the lyrics after the song and let the words simply speak for themselves.

But I hope that you enjoy the song, and if it speaks to you, perhaps you will let me know and share a little of that.

I Can’t Make You Love Me.
Songwriters: REID, MICHAEL / SHAMBLIN, ALLEN
Performing Artist: Bonnie Raitt.

Turn down the lights, turn down the bed
Turn down these voices inside my head
Lay down with me, tell me no lies
Just hold me close, don’t patronize – don’t patronize me

Cause I can’t make you love me if you don’t
You can’t make your heart feel something it won’t
Here in the dark, in these final hours
I will lay down my heart and I’ll feel the power
But you won’t, no you won’t
‘Cause I can’t make you love me, if you don’t
I’ll close my eyes, then I won’t see
The love you don’t feel when you’re holding me
Morning will come and I’ll do what’s right
Just give me till then to give up this fight
And I will give up this fight

Cause I can’t make you love me if you don’t
You can’t make your heart feel something it won’t
Here in the dark, in these lonely hours
I will lay down my heart and I’ll feel the power
But you won’t, no you won’t
‘Cause I can’t make you love me, if you don’t.

I Can’t Make You Love Me lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group

Lyrics from LyricsFreak

All rights reserved and no copyright infringement intended.

 

And just fo my blogging buddy the Depressed Moose, here is the George Michael version 🙂

 

