Tags

Laying in bed sick and having very little strength to do anything other than read, watch Tv, and read through other blogger’s blogs has, whilst a little frustrating, also been a very real blessing in so many ways.

Don’t get me wrong, I normally read a lot of blogs as I follow many of the blogs written by fellow members of the Mental Health Writers Guild. But being sick has given me time to read older posts on those blogs.  I am only sorry I didn’t have the ability to comment on them.  (Reading whilst laying down is so much easier thant typing whilst laying down.)

Not least of these blessings has been the ability to simply take time out and reflect on life whilst at the same time being inspired and encouraged by so many wonderful blog posts that others have written.

And all this thinking led me to formulating the following conclusion…

And it is a conclusion that I believe to be so true and so important to remember.

As someone who often writes about my personal experiences and challenges in respect of my physical and mental health I am blessed to be a part of a community of others who also write about their experiences and challenges and who, whilst often doing it as a form of self-therapy (let’s be honest here isn’t that a part of why we all blog?), also do it in the hope of benefiting others.

I for one believe that desire to benefit others should be recognized and rewarded.  Afterall is that not part of the reasoning behind the formation of the Mental Health Writers Guild?

So this morning, feeling a little stronger and better, I decided to get up and do just that.  To recognize and reward those who blog for the benefit of others as well as themselves.  And I decided to do that by designing and giving out a brand new award!

So here it is… The Compassionate Communicator Award.

This award can be awarded by any blogger who has themselves received this award to any blogger who they has in their blogging benefitted them.

This is a sincerely created and I hope sincerely given award and all that is asked is that anyone receiving or awarding this award follows these guidelines…

Guidelines…

1. That in awarding it to a blogger you simply link it to one of their blog posts which you feel has personally benefited you in some way.

2. You give a brief explanation of why you feel it benefited you

3. On accepting the award you link back to and thank the person who awarded it to you.

When, which and how many bloggers you then pass it on to in return is entirely up to you as the person awarding this award, all that I ask is that you do respect the intentions of this award and as such details and respects the guidelines above.

And with this in mind here are just a few of those I would like to award this award too…

Bipolar and Breastless for ‘Exposing Another Layer’  THere are many posts on Kathy’s blog which encourage and inspire me but this one stands out for several reasons.  Not least of those reasons is that it is, like so many of Kathy’s posts, real and raw and in many ways so selfless.

Infinite Sadness… or hope? for ‘Deceived‘. Cate’s blog is one which offers a great deal of variety and inspiration.  This particular blog post inspires me because it stands in the face of adversity and says, “I am still going!”  Is it adversity of the physical or mental health kind?  No not directly(although certainly it is an aspect of it) but one which we all face.  Trust, deception, and demoralization.  And yet despite that there is defiance and the encouragement to go on regardless.

Pride In Madness for ‘A Success in a Failure’ PIM’s blog also blesses me greatly and so did this post! Was it a post about happiness and wellbeing and all the flowers in the garden being in blossom?  Absolutely not.  It was a post about pain and disappointment but even more than that about endurance and support.  I love honesty.  It means so much to me and I love optimism but I love realism even more 🙂

Just A Thought for ‘Seeking Resolutions‘  Red’s blog speaks to me in a voice no other has.  I love the way some messages catch the very tears of my heart, bottle them, and make them a perfume of offering. Such as these words, “Aw but victims can turn in to survivors,  you find a way to cope and then hopefully find a way to start healing.”  Gotta love the truth and inspiration of those words.

The Mirth of Despair for ‘What’s Wrong With Me?‘  Angel’s blog has a special place in my heart and my time.  Were I to call down through the pit of despair and hear words so familiar to me but echoing back in the voice of another I just know that voice would be Angel’s. For me this particular blog post takes the ordinary and recognizes and communicates the extraordinary within it. Doing so with compassion and reality.

Moonside‘ for ‘A Reluctant Tenderness – Apserger’s Fear of Love‘  Ellen’s blog is fairly new but one which I so thoroughly enjoy reading.   Real in it’s content and unpretentious in both it’s design and presentation it talks of issues close to my heart and for that I am truly grateful.  I am often challenged and encourage both at the same time when I read Ellen’s stuff and especially this particular post.

Seasons Change and So Have I for ‘Dissociative Amnesia (Repressed Memories)‘ Carla’s blog is one which ‘does what it says on the tin’.  Preferring to present things just as they are seen rather than in a wy that is aesthetically more appealing Carla seems to share and she seeks to learn and learns as she seeks to share.  I like that about Carla and I like the honesty that comes with that and especially that which is show in this particular post.

So there you have it.  The new Award and indeed my fist nominations. I want so much to thank so many bloggers who encourage and inspire me, but this I think is a pretty good place to start and I encourage everyone of you (if you haven’t already done so) to check out the posts and the blogs I have awarded this award to.  I am certain you will find something that makes your visit worth it on each of them.

To those blogger I have awarded this award to, you already have my respect and thanks, I hope you too will feel you can pass this award on to those who have your respect and whom you would like to have your thanks.

Kind Regards and God bless you.

Kevin.

