Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

At Christmas, When I was a young boy, (and yes there really was a time when I was young LOL) we used to get three sets of presents.

On Christmas morning our “main” presents would all be in my parents’ room.  And each of us children would have a designated pile of presents and once awake we would all bundle into their and open  our whilst our parents sat up in bed watching and supervising whilst sipping the early morning  cups of tea which the butler had brought in.

The butler had of course been dismissed after serving the early morning refreshments as this was considered to be a ‘time for family only’.

Ok I’ll come clean, I made the whole butler part up as I realised on typing that we had ‘three sets of presents’ just how privileged that made us sound.  And actually in some ways and compared to many kids, we were.  But then money and material possessions doesn’t buy happiness and doesn’t mean we weren’t lacking in other areas.

But anyway, my parents’ room would indeed be where our main presents would be waiting for us and we would pile in there clutching the pillow cases full of smaller items which were hanging on the ends of our beds for us ready for when we awoke that morning. So the main presents was one set, the pillow case presents were another and in our family there was a tradition of our all each having further small presents on the actual Christmas Tree itself to be opened later in the day when more distant relatives came a calling.

These smaller presents (the ones on the tree and the ones in the pillow cases) were always referred to as ‘stocking fillers’ by sales assistants in the local shops and would be little toys, small pieces of seasonal fruit, nuts, boxes of sweets (candies), pen and pencil sets, colouring books, and puzzles.

Among my favourite of these being the puzzles and my very favourite puzzles where of chinese origin and made of wood.  Barrels and Cubes and Pyramids etc which would only fit together if all the interlocking different pieces  were assembled the right way.

Ones like these which I found at Creative Craft House.

As I said, they were my favourite and I absolutely loved them.  So why am I writing this now?  Am I getting my Christmas present suggestions in early this year?

LOL No not at all, actually I was thinking about some conversations I have been having lately and about therapy and the benefits of it.

Whilst it is true that some mental health conditions can result from neurology, chemical imbalances and genetics chemical or biological in origin or are influenced by these some are more circumstantial or even environmental in origin.

Very often the ability to work through issues that play heavily on our emotions or our minds can be vital to our coping and even removing those issues or the effects of them.

We often see this in children don’t we?   They come to us as parents or teachers and share things that are concerning them and very often those things can be resolved just by working through them de-constructing them and reconstructing them in the right way.

Much like how those favourite puzzles of mine will only work when all the different shaped pieces are looked at and reconstructed the correct way.

And the same can be true with us as adults.  Things that have burdened us, dragged us down, hurt us, confused us, debilitated us, caused us to question or even remove our self-worth, removed all our hope, can sometimes be worked through, de-constructed and reconstructed properly thereby freeing us from them.  Or at very least helping us to cope with them better.

Of course if those things happened in our childhood or youth the resultant behaviour will no doubt have become habitual and can be hard to change.  But good therapy considers this and integrate it into the whole process.

Today I have been fairly immobilized as a result of having to spend most of the day sat with my leg up and this has given me time to think.

How much of my mental health is affected by those things from my past which I have yet to fully work though?  How much of yours is?

