Tags

, ,

My kids and I have, for a very long time now, had a game that we have played as a family. It’s called “The Hot Seat” and whilst I know that to some it is an expression that induces pictures of stress it really isn’t like that.

Basically one person volunteers to sit in the proverbial ‘hot seat’ and whilst they are in the ‘hot seat’ anyone can ask them any questions that they would like to ask about any subject they would like to ask about. (There is a set time limit – normally five – ten minutes max and we normally take it in turns with several being in the hotseat each time we play it.)

The rules state that you cannot lie. BUT you can decline to answer if…
a) your answer would break a confidence.
b) the answer would get you or someone else in trouble,
c) the answer would cause hurt or embarrassment to someone else, or
d) the question (or the answer to that question) is too personal for you to give.

So there are safeguards in place and it is basically just a way of us being open with each other and a way of encouraging us all to share and learn the benefits of sharing with each other.

Sometimes we are so bad at that aren’t we? Especially teenagers and us men/males it would seem.

As many of you will know I recently posted a post entitled ‘Depression and It’s Effects On Self-Esteem – The Naked Truth!’ in which I did share very openly about depression and it’s effects on self-image.

This post generated many excellent comment, one of which came from my blogging buddy Lulu and which included the statement…

I wish more men could come out there and just put it out there like you. Men are expected to be these stoic creatures that bear every emotion in silence. I think it’s so antiquated, and I still don’t understand why the men in our society haven’t come to the realization that if they open their mouths, then other men will too.

So I had a (possibly rash) thought!  If we are going to get men to ‘put it out there’ then it will need men (and yes that includes me) to lead by example.  And I know that Lulu was talking slightly differently to what I am suggesting but hey it is a start and will be challenging for me.

So with that in mind, and mindful of the ‘In the Hot Seat’ game that I play with my kids, I thought I would challenge myself to do just that – to ‘put it all out there’.

So here’s the deal…

I am voluntarily placing myself ‘in the hot seat’ and I invite you to ask me any question you would like to ask me.

It can be as searching and challenging as you like and indeed about ANY subject you would like.

I in return will answer honestly and the same rules apply as when I play it with my kids…

Those rules stating that I cannot lie. BUT I can decline to answer if…
a) my answer would break a confidence.
b) the answer would get me or someone else in trouble,
c) the answer would cause hurt or embarrassment to someone else, or
d) the question (or the answer to that question) is too personal for me to give.

So there you have it. I await with interest your questions (hm I wonder who will ask the most searching or most risky/bold one?) and I promise to answer them as quickly as I can.

