Tags

, ,

Well, Carla from over at Seasons Change and So Have I has very kindly awarded me a Blogger Appreciation Award and I am so very blessed as I know that this award is given from the heart.

That is not to say that the other awards I or this blog have received have not been from the heart, I am sure they have been, it is just that very often awards tend to come in batches.

Secretly (and I share this with the certain knowledge that it is just between you and I and that you won’t go telling any female readers), I can’t help wondering if, just as when a group of women share a house there is a theory that they somehow subconsciously synchronize their monthly cycles, when a group of bloggers share a community they subconsciously synchronize their awards?  But as I said that is just between you and I LOL.

But this one is different.  It isn’t part of the normal awards and I know that Carla chose it specifically and means for it to be awarded for…

“The blogger friends you have that you really especially appreciate!

For how their blogs have inspired you, their comments have encouraged you or if they have been there for you with a listening ear.”

So with no further impish ado, let me comply with the requirements of the award by firstly answering the 5 questions set…

My five Answers…

(Pulls up shirt, grabs a couple of pencils and plays a drum roll on his ever so bulbous belly) [How’s that for a mental image you didn’t need?]

1. How long have you been blogging?

Hm, now that is a tough one as I guest-blogged on other blogs and also edited other blogs before even starting my own blogs.  But in terms of this particular blog hm I think my first ever post on here was January 16th 2009 so a few years back now.

My first post was also an explanation of the name.

2. Why did you start blogging?

In essence I wanted to give what I was going through some form of voice in the hope that through that voice I would be able help others who may be having experiences similar to mine and at the same time to see if indeed others did have experiences similar to mine.

I especially wanted to communicate the fact that I was a Christian with poor mental health and that this was not as shocking, or wrong, or spiritually contradictory as some well-intentioned but ever-so harmful Christians seem to think.

(Trust me sometimes being a Christian  with poor mental health is like being a muslim with a pork chop)

3. What type of blogs do you like to follow/read?

In the main I follow Christian and Mental Health based blogs as those are the two primary experience bases in my life.  I also read philosophy and weight loss blogs as well as one or two private blogs from people I respect for their work in different fields.

4. What is the one thing you’d like to improve on as a blogger?

Regularity would be a biggie for me.  I often feel my health gets in the way especially when it comes to my commenting on and encouraging other blogs ad bloggers.  I really do feel that this is such a very big thing and yet I am so bad at it at times.

I think one of the problems is that when you read a blog you are faced with instant end results and never get to see the process or efforts that go into writing them.  This should be acknowledged and recognized.

5. What is your purpose for your blog?

I think the purposes of my blog remain true to it’s original purposes as answered in 2 above…

to give what I was going through some form of voice.

to help others who may be having experiences similar to mine.

to see if indeed others did have experiences similar to mine.

To communicate the fact that I was a Christian with poor mental health and that this was not as shocking, or wrong, or spiritually contradictory as some well-intentioned but ever-so harmful Christians seem to think.

So there you have them.  My Five answers, I hope they all made sense.

And now for the nominations…

(Imaginary little man wearing a tuxedo and carrying a sealed gold envelope enters into my brain from stage left)

My nominations are

…But She’s Crazy.  Gotta love this blog and blogger!  Eileen’s blog is among my favourite reads and her words of encouragement through her comments on my blog are so very much valued by me.  “Ah, but she’s crazy!” the voices in my head tell me but actually (and please don’t tell my voices this as they haven’t worked it out yet) so am I so that is an added bonus in my book lol.

Magicallymad from Not Quite Lost.  Hm the first one was crazy, this one is magically mad, is there a pattern forming here?  LOL.  Well if there is it probably stems from the honesty and openness that are exhibited by both of them.  Jill over at Not Quite Lost always brings a smile to my eyes (and after all the eyes are the true indicators of happiness)  – even when what she has to say is difficult to read or hear and even when it may not come from a good place you know it is sent with good intentions.

Cate over at Infinite Sadness or what? Is my little kiwi buddy. I say little as no mark of disrespect but hey let’s face it who has ever seen a big kiwi?  Cate tells it how it is but with compassion and style and I like that about her.

(Now I realize that some of you may think I have broken the pattern here – the first being crazy the second being mad and now just ‘Cate’ no crazy or mad reference – but remember she is a kiwi the crazy mad part therefore doesn’t need stating 🙂 )

So there you have them, my nominations.  I understand that one or two may already have been nominated for this award but frankly I don’t care, I love them as bloggers and wanted to include them and for that same reason I also nominate Carla.

Carla from over at Seasons Change and So Have I has been a source of great support and encouragement to me (and I know many others) and it only seems fair that Carla also is nominated 🙂

As for the crazy or mad part for Carla, well just look at the company she keeps 🙂

