Tags

Well this is Day 10 in my Passions Profile Challenge and I am still very much enjoying it!

Since my last review of this process I have managed to explore and write about a  further four of my passions.

In all honesty my intention had been that I would do one passion per day and to do them over twelve consecutive days.  Actually that never happened but since I made the whole thing up – hey no rules no foul!

Day Six saw me exploring ‘Art and the Arts‘ and I have to say I really enjoy exploring this once more.  It has also rekindled my enthusiasm to get back into painting and sculpting and the such and I am determined to get my spare room back into some semblance of an art room.

Day Seven saw me reconsidering the whole ‘subject of family’ and I have to be honest here an unexpected spin-off of this has been the thoughts and reflections I have been doing about the family of God and my past lack of regular attendance at any church or fellowship.

But then the Holy Spirit can be like that.  He speaks into situations when we often least expect it – highlighting issues and circumstances – even footholds and strongholds in our lives which Christ wants us to surrender or break down.

Day Eight saw me looking at ‘Mental Health and Mental Illness’ and it may seem to be a strange thing to include as a specific subject on a blog that is all about Mental Health and Mental Illness.

But the fact is that as a Mental Health writer I often write about specifics.  I blog about things that happen and which are impacted by or related to my mental health or mental health in general and sometimes it is good to just step back, look at the big picture and to reflect on what you see.

I think it was Confucius who said “By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.”

[And yes I know that I am a Christian and to some it might appear strange my quoting Confucius but truth is truth and wisdom is wisdom.]

Day Nine had me thinking about my love of ‘language’ again and I had great fun getting re-acquainted with this particular passion.

I decided to spend some time with the old books on my bookshelf and to just get re-acquainted with my lexicons, dictionaries, and etymologicons.

Yeah I know I am a nerd. But hey each to their own 🙂

So again I am so very pleased and decided to undertake this challenge and I have to say that I have also had great fun following the Passions Profile Challenges that my blogging buddies over at Infinite Sadness or What? and But She’s Crazy are doing too.

So I encourage you to pop over and check them out if you have the time.

I also encourage you to consider taking up this challenge for yourself!  If you do, let me know as I would love to follow your journey through it!

