Tags

When I came up with the whole ‘Passions Profile Challenge‘ I was fully aware that some of the Passions I would list and then subsequently have to explore more and then discuss would be harder than others.

So I thought that I would today start with an easy one on my list and that is number 9 – Handwriting.

Handwriting – or more accurately, taking time to write things out by hand is something that is very dear to my heart and something that brings m a great deal of joy as well as some degree of sadness.

In the one paragraph explanation of this passion I made the statement that, “I think handwriting has really suffered with the advent of computers and mobile phones etc.” and I truly do believe that to be the case.

Sadly I think our ability to spell and language itself has also suffered as a result of these. (But that comes under a different passion on my list.)

I know it may sound very silly to some but it really does sadden me that handwriting seems to be suffering in this way and that many of people seem to suffer a decline in the neatness of their handwriting as a result of a lack of practice due to email and wordprocessing being so much easier and quicker.

Personally speaking, and I accept that I have more time on my hands than most people due to my being retired now, I would much rather take the time to hand write letters etc and to send them off by snail mail.  For the record I am retired on medical grounds and not because of my age 🙂

I mourn the apparent loss of patience when it comes to expecting things and I resent the fact that so many of us seem to expect things to happen instantly or at least speedily.  I don’t want to live in a face-paced, give it to me now, I don’t want to have to wait for it kind of world that seems so very prominent in today’s society.

I like taking time to write letters and I make no apology for it.  I like taking time to think; about what it is I want to say, what I can say to demonstrate how much I care for the person I am writing to, how I can demonstrate my love, how much of myself I want to share and I see taking time to write a letter by hand and to do so neatly and legibly to be a very big part of that.

Sadly, due to my failing eyesight and my poor health and subsequent shaky hands my hand writing is not all that it used to be.  On top of that the more tired I become, and writing is one of the things that does sem to tire both my arm (due to my CFIDS) and my eyes, the worse my handwriting becomes.  But even so I still like to do it and I just apologize when I realize my handwriting has deteriorated.

I personally write with a fountain pen – yes they do still exist and I do still use one – and I really like doing so.

So today, in line with this challenge, I have sat and written several letters to friends and family and will be posting them out tomorrow whilst I am in town for my Psychiatrist and my Doctor’s appointments.

I also wanted to encourage others to consider writing by hand and even investing in a decent fountain pen.  Fountain pens are great as, although they are a lot better than they once were, they do still require a certain amount of care when using them.

So there you have it.  Writing letters and doing so by hand is part of who I am and part of how I show my respect and/or my love for those I am writing to. And so with that in mind I leave you with this one last thing…

