Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

One of the saddest effects of experiencing poor mental health is that it can really start to erode your enthusiasm and to rob you of your interests and your passions.

Things that folk are normally very interested in, even passionate about, can fall by the wayside as the effort of having to deal with the impact of our poor mental health on our everyday lives takes over.

But do we have to lose our passions or is there something that we can do to keep them?

Well this is where the ‘Passions Profile’ Challenge comes into play.

Here’s what to do.

1. Write your own ‘Passions Profile’.

1a. List 10 things which you are personally very passionate about. (If you can’t manage 10 then don’t worry just list as many as you can and add to your list later if you want to.)

1b. Having written your list write a short one-paragraph explanation of that passion under each one of those items on the list.

[That list (complete with your one-paragraph explanations) is your ‘Passions Profile’.]

2.  Publish your ‘Passions Profile’ on your blog along with the following ‘Challenge Committment’ to taking up the ‘Passions Profile Challenge’.

I (place your name or screen name here) of the (place the name of your blog here) blog, hereby commit to taking up the ‘Passions Profile Challenge’ and I hereby promise that I will, where able, over the next (enter your own number here) days look at and explore a different passion each day.

Furthermore, having done so that I day I also commit to then publishing how I did so for that particular passion and also share my experiences of having done so. I hope you will enjoy sharing this challenge with me and even consider taking up the challenge for yourself.

(if you want to link back here by way of explanation of this challenge feel free to do so.)

3.  Having taken up the challenge and made that commitment have fun completing the challenge 🙂

If you want to let me know you are doing the challenge I would be very interested in learning you are doing so and following your exploits 🙂

And since I think it is always good to lead by example here is my ‘Passions Profile’ and ‘Challenge Committment’.

My Passions Profile…

  1. God, Christ and my Faith – I am really passionate about my faith and about God, Christ and Christianity in general.  I truly believe that God loves us all and that realizing is such an important thing.
  2. My Family –  My family, both biological and adopted mean so very much to me and I am so blessed to have them.  I have had a very rocky road when it comes to my family but each and every one of my family members is so very important to me.
  3. Mental Health & Mental Illness – This again, like so many passions, comes from a very personal place and I think it is of such importance in this world today and something we should all strive to understand.
  4. Family – This is not about my own family as much as it is about the concept of family and the fact that I believe we all should have a family.  I personally believe that the importance of family has eroded in society’s thinking over the years and that this is so sad and so detrimental to our health as a race.
  5. Music – I love music and believe it to be such an awesome communicator. One which is able to penetrate barriers, cross voids and connect people.  I truly believe it can inspire us and lift us from the depths of sorrow to the height of joy.  But as is often the case I think if used badly it can be harmful too.
  6. Art & The Arts – I love art in its many forms and appreciate so many different genres, styles, mediums etc. Again it is  great communicator and I love appreciating the art of others as well as creating it myself.  In respect of ‘the arts’ I truly believe they should be accessible to all and that our children should be introduced to them at an early age and encouraged to develop their own understanding of and appreciation for them.
  7. Reading – Yes this is another of my passions.  I love reading and read a great deal.  It’s all about creativity, communication, imagination.  It’s about the sharing , the expressing, the learning and the empathizing for me 🙂
  8. Writing & Story Telling – I love to write.  Whether I am working on a novel, a magazine article, a blog, a poem or a letter, I just love it.  I personally believe that not enough people are encouraged to do it and that all too often in our education systems writing – especially creative writing, story telling suffers at the hands of academia.
  9. Hand Writing – OK this is something that I am also very passionate about.  Hand writing letters (especially personal ones) rather than just typing them out on a computer (or sending off an email).  I think handwriting has really suffered with the advent of computers and mobile phones etc.
  10. Social Justice – Another one right up there for me is social justice and social injustice.  We live in a cruel world today where the rights of the ordinary person are all too frequently ignored.
  11. Singing – Probably linked to my passion for music and my love of communicating I just love singing and am passionate about it.
  12. Language – Now by this I am not meaning learning and speaking different languages (something I just don’t seem to be able to do myself anymore) but appreciating the gift of language and especially our own language.  I truly believe (and am greatly saddened by the way that) mobile phones, social networking sites, chat messengers etc have not only created their own language (which is not such a bad thing) but have done so to the cost of our own languages. Which is a bad thing.

So there you have it.  My personal ‘Passions Profile’.  And here is my Challenge Committment…

“I Kevin, of the Voices of Glass blog, hereby commit to taking up the ‘Passions Profile Challenge’ and I hereby promise that I will, where able, over the next 14 days look at and explore a different passion each day.

Furthermore, having done so that I day I also commit to then publishing how I did so for that particular passion and also share my experiences of having done so. I hope you will enjoy sharing this challenge with me and will even consider taking up the challenge for yourself.”

So there you have it.  The Passions Profile Challenge and my own personal response to it.

I hope you will also agree that this can be beneficial and will follow my own responses to it as well as taking up the challenge for yourself and I look forward to reading those.

