I wonder if you would do something for me?  Well with me really.

I thought today I would share one of my pen and ink drawings with you and ask you to study it for a few minutes and then let me know what you think.  To take the role of an art critic for a moment or two if you would.

All you have to do is to take a good look at it for a few minutes, if you will, and ask yourself some questions…

Do you like it?  Do you find it appealing?  Do you like the over all presentation?  What do you like least about it?

Consider it in its entirety.  Consider each aspect of it.  Consider its content.  Consider its balance. Ask where your eye is naturally drawn on it.  Consider the three main characters if you will – the unicorn, the figure behind the unicorn, the moon.  Which of the three do you like most?  Which do you connect with, if indeed you connect with any of them?

What is the unicorn saying to you?  What is the figure behind saying to you?  What is the inclusion of the moonlight saying to you?  What is the whole picture saying to you?

If you were to give the picture a name or to describe it what name would you give it?  How would you describe it?

Perhaps you would even be kind enough to comment below and to let me know your answers to the questions above.  I really would be grateful and yes there really is a point to all of this.

So that no-one’s answers are influenced by the comments/answers submitted by others, I am not going to publish any comments submitted until a little later.

Additionally, if you want to comment but don’t want others to know they are your answers, just say so in your comments and I will make a note of that and will copy and publish your comments under my name but won’t identify who actually made them.

I look forward to your comments and I really do appreciate your doing this 🙂

