Tags

, , ,

I am sitting here wishing that I was in bed right now and the truth is that the only thing stopping me from being in bed right now is me.

This weekend has been absolutely wonderful and apart from some minor tidying up that needs to be done all of the re-routing and re-wiring of my telephones, internet and televisions is finished and I am so very delighted with the results.

Whilst all this was going on I also decided it was time from some spring cleaning and a little furniture re-arranging in my bedroom and again I am delighted with the results but once again it has all come at a cost.

I am so very tired right now and on top of that I am experiencing fairly significant chest pains.  Nothing too bad and I don’t think there is any great cause for concern. I have taken both an Aspirin and used my GTN spray and indeed will be making my way to bed very shortly.  But see that is one of the problems.  I have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and in fact bed rest does nothing or at best next to nothing for this illness and yet mental and physical activity can aggravate it.

However, on checking my blood glucose levels (I am a type 2 diabetic) they are very high for some reason.  I am not sure why this is as I ate some hours back now and haven’t eaten any fatty, sweet, or sugary foods and there has been no drastic change to my diet today.

Of course the recommended way of quickly reducing your blood sugars is to burn them off via physical activity but then how does one do that when physical and mental activity only serves to aggravate the Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and when avoidance of it is highly recommended when you are experience significant chest pains?

This I think very clearly reflects one of the major difficulties that so many of us who experience a number of health issues face.  Situations where the treatment for one condition would instantly or seriously aggravate another condition.

For many of us we really are caught between a rock and a hard place when it comes to our health and it is sometimes so very difficult not to let this drag you down emotionally and indeed mentally.  It is also very difficult when well-meaning friends and family members only see one part of the whole picture and offer you advice on that one part without any consideration off the other aspects of your health or any real understanding of the bigger picture.

And I think this is prevalent as an experience within folk who experience both mental and physical health issues combined and actually it can even be a difficulty experienced when dealing with doctors who specialize in one aspect of health but have a very limited knowledge of other aspects.  I am fairly certain I am not the only person to experience this and I really would be interested to hear what others have to share in respect of their experiences in this regard?

Whilst going to bed will not benefit me in respect of my Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, it is advisable in respect of my chest pains and the fact that I am at the moment so week I am finding it very difficult to stay upright.

Thankfully I am not alone in the house tonight and I will be drinking lots of water as this I understand also can help lower blood sugar levels.

For me personally, and in respect of my current ailments, aches and pains I am determined that this is not going to drag me down tonight. I am going to go get into bed, watch television and sketch or paint a little. Sometimes when you are caught between a rock and hard place all you can do is make cave paintings 🙂

