Tags

, , ,

In my last post I spoke about the fact that “I won’t go down with this ship” – in other words I am going to put up one mighty great fight to pilot my way through the current storms that my mental health is throwing at me.

Well talk is cheap so today I started phase one of that fight.  Taking back control and preparing for the fight ahead.

Those who have been following this blog will know that one of the things that is painfully apparent whenever my mental health or my physical health deteriorates is that the tidiness of my home deteriorates along with them.

So I decided that today, despite the way I have been feeling, I would do my best to limit the potential damage of this.

I processed all of the paperwork that has been building up in my in tray.

I moped all through the house.

I cleaned the bathrooms

I tidied the kitchen

I did a load of laundry (just the ironing to do now, once it is all dry)

I cleaned out the fireplace and prepared it for when it is needed.

I tidied the front room up

I cleaned and tidied my bedroom

I sorted through all of the DVDs ensuring that they were all in the right order (OCD can be a bitch to live with)

I sorted out all of my books again making sure they were in the correct order.

I sorted out all of my meds.

I got up to date with most of my correspondence.

So now I am pretty much prepared. If the house goes down hill in respect of tidiness at least it has further to go before it starts to irritate me and aggravate my mental health.  Hopefully I should be able to keep a check on my meds and to continue taking them properly.

Tonight I feel physically exhausted and yes no doubt I did over do things yet again but at least it is done now.  I am going to go to bed and try to read as much of the book that I am currently reading before my comprehension, focus or mood prevents me from enjoying it any more.

What will tomorrow bring?  Who knows.  Perhaps as well as preparing for the fight, the things that I achieved today will also postpone the fight?  All I know is that I am so very, very tired and physically so desperately shattered  right now BUT as well as that I am pleased and calm and feel I have achieved something very worth while today.

