Tags

, , , ,

So I am isolating again…

I think it was Mae West coined the phrase that I have chosen as the title of this post.

It’s a great quote isn’t it and yet I can’t help wondering if it is one that finds its birth in disappointment, Certainly its entrance into my “here and now awareness” finds its birth in disappointment, well actually extreme disappointment.

Recently I pulled away from virtually everything that I normally did and I did so for many reasons not least of all being because of a heart-felt conviction that I was being fed “pounds of promises”.

I am mindful that this may seem somewhat despondent or even harsh to some people but trust me it is the most charitable I can be at the moment.

You see as a Christian I have an understanding of what I believe God wants in respect of love and faith and family and whilst I do not profess to be an expert on any of those I am fairly well read and do have a fairly adequate biblical and historical knowledge. Additional to this head knowledge I also have a deeply felt heart-conviction of what faith, Christianity and family should be.

To me, being a family means loving one another, spending time with one another, and being there for one another and being a Christian family means doing so out of a deep reference for Christ Jesus.

“John 13:35 (King James Version) By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.”

Sadly my experience, both inside and outside of “churchianity”, is however increasingly that this is not reality but instead is filled with people who seem only to want to love on their terms, or when you are useful to them, or when it is convenient to them.

In truth my experience tells me this is life. My eyes tell me very few people seem to love or be the family God wants. My voices and thoughts tell me it is because I am not worth being with or knowing, My heart tells me living like this is not what it is meant to be and just not worth it.

Isolating oneself may seem dangerous and unhealthy to some, Certainly I understand where they are coming from in this regard BUT consider these two points if you will…

1. Sometimes isolating yourself is far more preferable than being isolated by others,
2. Perhaps you are one of the ones causing me (or others) to isolate.

Consider this also if you will. I agree with Mae West, “An ounce of performance is worth pounds of promises BUT I would go further, “Pounds of promises unfulfilled are the weight that drags people down and that suffocates love.”

