Tags

, ,

All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players;
They have their exits and their entrances,
And one man in his time plays many parts,
His acts being seven ages.

In case you aren’t familiar, it is a quote from Shakespeare’s “As You Like it”. Actually it is believed that it was already a well known cliché well before Shakespeare used it in his play but the fact that it was already a cliché doesn’t make it any the less true does it?

“All the world’s a stage, And all the men and women merely players;”

Are you completely real ALL the time, with EVERYBODY? I think not and indeed you would be an exceptional person in many ways if you were.

What about those uncomfortable truths that you don’t want others to know about you?  “The skeletons in the cupboard” as they are often called.

What about those times when you are really, really low but put on a brave face so as not to worry or concern anyone or so as not to bring other down?

What about those of us with mental health issues who try our very best to walk around appearing “normal” or at least “in good form” so as not to concern or upset anyone?

We all wear masks , don’t we?  But sometimes don’t you just wish you could be real? 

Today I am feeling a little better but still struggling quite badly.  Over the past few days I have been really struggling and yet when folk come a calling, and there have been one or two neighbors who have popped in, or when I have had to go out, I have instantly put on the old “I am hanging in there” mask.

I thank God that I have survived this latest onslaught of mental anguish but I have to ask at what cost?

I feel my resilience lessening each time. But even so I am still grateful for being able to see it through.

As a Christian I truly believe that God sees beyond the masks that we put on and I truly believe that with Christ we can be totally real.  So I ask myself, if as Christians we are all meant to be trying to be Christ-like why do I not feel able to be open and real with other Christians?  What is stopping me?

