Tags

,

OK so having had a really bad doctor’s appointment at the Hospital in Dublin on Wednesday things seem to be going from bad to worse.

This having been said I am going to do my best to stay positive.

One of the things that I have always been very keen about is encouraging my kids, both male and female to regularly self examine. It is also something that I have regularly done myself as I think it is very important.

Those of you who have read my last entry will have read how I felt some discomfort actually some really bad pain in and around my nipple. Well on self examining today I found a large lump behind my nipple on my left breast.

Given my general state of health this is a very worrying sign and I am not at all happy about having found it although having done so I can at least get it checked out as soon as possible which is at least something.

Looking on the bright side, I am convinced it is probably going to be an infection and in fact the occurrences of breast cancer in males is far far less common than in women and from what I can gather.  Also it could just be a condition called gynaecomastia which rarely develops into breast cancer and as I said I am pretty sure it is only an infection.

Either way I have come to the following conclusion. Whilst I am sure it is an infection if it is not then I am not going to hide this or be embarrassed about it. The truth is that male breast cancer is a possibility and too many people are unaware of that possibility and those who have it, from what I can tell, are too embarrassed to talk about it. IF the worst comes to the worst and it is cancer I am not going to be one of those people. If it is breast cancer then I will face it and I will beat it and I will try to be real and honest and open about how I am feeling and I will do my best to praise God all the way through it no matter what it may bring.

With this in mind I told my parents about it tonight and they were very supportive and as they are Christian like me they are going to pray for me. Which I really appreciate. Tomorrow is Sunday and so I will be making an appointment on Monday to see my doctor.

